Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m not wearing anything particularly interesting today, so I thought I’d do a little daily make up tutorial for those who might be curious about where my mug comes from (i.e. no one)! I’m not really the type to experiment with make up so I paint my face up like this pretty much every day, and even when I go out clubbing I use the same model but use darker colours and pile it on a bit thicker.

Also, apologies in advance for the amount of stupid faces I’m pulling, but I felt a bit silly which resulted in some very strange facial expressions.

Step 1 (Prep: skip this to get straight to eyes!): I wash my face every morning, alternating between facial wash and scrub (so every other day I’ll give my face a good scrub). I tend to avoid spot-busting face washes because I have this thought that if they actually worked, people would stop buying them because they wouldn’t need them anymore… I then put a bit of E45 on my face because I have dry skin, followed by Vitamin E Tinted Moisturiser from The Body Shop (which I forgot to take a photo of; it’s expensive but it lasts for ages) which evens out my skin tone and means you don’t have to wear so much foundation. I then apply a light layer of Dream Matte Mousse foundation with a make-up sponge (because I’ve heard that if you use your fingers, it can make your spots worse. I don’t know if this is true or not, but I’m not taking the risk!) If I’m going clubbing I’ll sometimes then chuck on some bronzer, but I haven’t done that today.

Step 2: Find a neutral eyeshadow (i.e. close to skin colour) and whack it over your whole eyelid, going right the way up to the brow.

Step 3: Take a medium brown eyeshadow and brush it into the crease of your eyelid, blending it in as you go to keep it looking relatively natural; I do this because I heard years and years ago that if you accentuate the crease of your eyelid, it makes your eyes look bigger.

Step 4: Take a bright white eyeshadow and apply it in a line directly underneath your eyebrow and on the inner corner of your eye, then blend it all in to keep it looking natural. I usually take the white eyeshadow partly along my bottom eyelid too because I find that it brightens your whole eye up.

Step 4: Take an eyeliner pen (either liquid or pencil, depending on your taste/how heavy you want it to be) and dab it along the outer half of your top lid. The idea isn’t to make it obvious that you’re wearing eyeliner, but just to thicken your lashes up a bit. I’m using a Topshop Crayon in Black Jack.

Step 5: Finish everything off with two coats of mascara on both your upper and lower lashes (leaving the first coat for a couple of minutes to dry before applying the second coat). My mascara changes all the time, but at the moment I’m using Falsies by Maybelline. Et voila: an easy-peasy make up look that is natural enough to suit everyone and quick enough to be done before a 9am lecture.

I also thought I’d quickly show off the dress I’m wearing today; I don’t actually know what this style of dress is called, but it’s short at the front and long at the back and therefore trés belle. I can’t remember exactly where it came from, because I got it from a little shop in the Lanes in Brighton which sells old clothes from shops like Miss Selfridge/River Island/etc. I’ve then belted this dress with a freebee belt and covered up a bit with a beige Primark cardigan.

