Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

As I’m off to the homeland today, I’ve dressed for a bit of a car journey, and as a result my outfit isn’t particularly exciting. SO, I thought today I would do a bit of a hair tutorial (only it won’t be that instructional) on how I do my hair 99.9% of the time, which isn’t very exciting, but is a piece of cake to do. My hair is a medium length blonde bob with long layers and a long fringe, and takes five minutes to style. Winning.

Step 1: Blow-dry hair upside down for maximum volume, inducing an ‘impossible triangle’. Be sure to use heat defence; I use Tresemmé Heat Defence Styling Spray and a thickening serum called Advance Techniques Volume & Texture (by Avon) which smells lush.

Step 2: Section off the top half of your hair (when my hair was long, I used three sections instead of two) and straighten the bottom half, angling the straightener inwards so that the bottom flicks under a tad. Most of the time I’ll then just leave it, but if I’m going clubbing/need a bit of a boost I’ll backcomb the underneath then smooth the top over with a soft brush to remove all evidence. No one has to know. Squirt a bit (not a lot, a bit) of hairspray on the bottom half of your hair to keep it in place. I’m using Tresemmé Salon Finish Hairspray in Freeze Hold.

Step 3: Let down the top section of your hair and repeat; straighten, flicking the bottom under slightly by turning the straightener in towards your face. Backcomb, then lightly brush over the top with a soft brush. You can just hairspray it and leave it here if you like, which I often do.

Step 4: Before you blast hairspray over the whole thing, deeming it impossible to work with, you can add pins/hairbands/all sorts of exciting shizz. Today, I’ve scraped the whole thing back and secured it with two kirby gribs crossed over to make an ‘X’ on the back of my head. Et voila.

I also thought I’d at least put up one picture of what I’m wearing today, which is a pair of Primark grey skinnies, a dark-grey tank top and a striped/floral cut-off sweater from New Look. I’ve finished the whole thing with my little Topshop alarm clock necklace.

